Tuesday, 9 October 2012

PENGASSAN PPMC branch gets new officers

Senior staff in Pipelines and Products Marketing Company Limited (PPMC) under the aegis of the Petroleum and Natural Gas Senior Staff Association of Nigeria (PENGASSAN) have elected new executive council to lead the affairs of the branch for the next three years.

All the elected officers were returned unopposed by the delegates at the conference.

The election, which took place during the private session of the branch’s 3rd Triennial Delegates Conference at Abeokuta, Ogun State, saw Comrade Saheed Olufemi Odesanya elected as the Branch Chairman, while Comrade Essien Markson became the Vice Chairman. 

Comrade Odesanya succeeded Comrade Sunday Sadiku as Chairman of the Branch Executive Council (BEC).

Comrade Andrew Atikpo emerged Secretary and Comrade Sanni Mohammed was elected Assistant Secretary, while Comrades Oscar Elias, Saleh Abimaje, Ifeanyi Nwigwe Simon Onovae, and Henry Atsiangbe became Treasurer, Industrial Relations Officer (IRO), Financial Secretary, Publicity Secretary and Auditor respectively.

Comrade Helen Eke was also elected Chairperson of Women-in-PENGASSAN to represent the interests of female senior staff in the branch.

In his acceptance speech after the election Comrade Odesanya, who thanked the delegates for the confidence they had in him, promised to make team spirit his watchword by carrying all members along in the affairs of the branch.

He said that the new executive council will continue to build on the achievements of the past executive council.

Speaking at the conference, PENGASSAN President, Comrade Babatunde Ogun, charged the elected officers to show minimum quality of commitment to serve their members fairly and without prejudice and for greater members’ interest.

He urged them to seek the most realistic strategies in dealing with issues, while calling on collaboration between labour and management to engender growth in the company.

No comments:

Post a Comment