Wednesday, 17 October 2012

Aregbesola, nine other Govs get NEPAD award for Excellence and Good Governance

 In recognition of his developmental strides and good governance in Osun, the NEPAD Business Group, Nigeria (NBGN) will on Thursday this week honour the governor of the State of Osun, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola with an award of Excellence and Good Governance.

The NEPAD Business Group, Nigeria (NBGN) has announced ten Nigerian Governors to have won its maiden Awards on Excellence and Good Governance. The award ceremony holds on Thursday October 18, 2012 at Federal Palace Hotel, Lagos.
It would be recalled that in the last one and half years, Governor Aregbesola has taken measures to rejuvenate the economy of Osun through a six-point action plan. The action plan, which include banishing poverty and hunger, banishing unemployment, restoring healthy living, functional education and communal peace and progress, are meant to develop the state to an enviable economic status.

To this end, the governor and his team of technocrats have developed a roadmap, believing that development should be tackled through economic growth, gainful employment, food and rural enterprise, health, sports, water, physical infrastructure, participatory and accountable governance.

To drive the roadmap, the government designed policies aimed at engendering economic development in the State of Osun, in which Aregbesola says the policies are already in full throttle of implementation for investment inflow from within and overseas.
Part of the programmes is to put in place enabling environment for businesses to thrive and provide basic social infrastructure to drive the economic development as enunciated in the project agenda that span between 2012 and 2016.

The phases will see development of infrastructure such as access roads to all sites, feeder roads to farming communities, electrification, land acquisition and payment of compensations and implementation of pilot projects to include introduction of some minor attractions open to government and PPP initiatives.

Other awardees are Alhaji Sule Lamido, the Governor of Jigawa State and Mr. Peter Obi, the Governor of Anambra State. Others are Mr. Babatunde Fashola (SAN), the Governor of Lagos State, Alhaji Rabiu Kwamkwaso, the Governor of Kano State, Comrade Adam Oshiomhole, the Governor of Edo State, Alhaji AbdulFatah Ahmed, the Governor of Kwara State, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan, the Governor of Delta State, Owelle Rochas Okorocha, the Governor of Imo State and Chief Godswill Akpabio, the Governor of Akwa Ibom State

According to Mr. Goodie Ibru, the Chairman of NBGN, the ten governors were chosen after a rigorous screening exercise undertaken by a six man group of experts gathering and analysing information about the activities of the governors in their respective state.
The group considered the performance of the governors in the context of poverty reduction programmes and policies, infrastructural renewal and development, youth empowerment projects, health development programmes, sustainable environmental projects and policies and lastly public/private partnership initiative.

In arriving at its judgement ratified by the NBGN Board, Mr. Ibru says, ‘the group was never unmindful that the awardees still have a lot of work at hand in spite of the realities and peculiarities of their respective states’.

NBGN Award of Excellence and Good Governance was instituted to appreciate and motivate the governors so that they can further deliver democracy dividends and consequently achieve the elusive Millennium Development Goals (MDG).

Among eminent Nigerians to grace the occasion are Sir Arthur Mbanefo, former Chairman, University of Lagos Governing Board, His Royal Highness, Oba Rilwan Akiolu, the Oba of Lagos, Dr. Uduimo Itsueli, former Chairman, Cadbury Nigeria Plc. and Mr. Bismarck Rewane, the MD of Financial Derivatives  Ltd.

No comments:

Post a Comment