Saturday, 9 November 2013

Golden Eaglets Are World Champion

Photo Credit: Punch Newspaper
The victorious Golden Eaglets of Nigeria are expected back in the country today after winning the FIFA Under Seventeen World Cup for a record fourth time.

The Eaglets defeated defending champions, Mexico three-nil.

Erick Aguirre’s own goal put the Golden Eaglets in front in Abu Dhabi, the United Arab Emirates.

The Eaglets doubled their lead with a tap in from Kelechi Iheanacho before Captain Musa Muhammed’s free kick sealed the win.

Nigeria also picked up the tournament’s fair-play award and Dele Alampasu was awarded the Golden Glove for being the best goalkeeper while Iheanacho won the Golden Ball as well as silver boot after he scored six goals.

Swede’s Valmir Berisha scored seven goals to win the Golden Boot.

No comments:

Post a Comment